Skip to Content

Oakbank Racing Club

Welcome to Oakbank Racing Club! We have a rich history in the Adelaide Hills. Our club was established in 1875 and boasts one of the world’s largest picnic race meets, the Easter Racing Carnival, which has historically been held on Easter Saturday and Monday

Our feature Easter Racing Carnival Oakbank Week 2022 will comprise two separate race days on April 16, and April 18, with increased prizemoney on Easter Saturday. 

Racing History

The first horse to win the Great Eastern Steeplechase around the undulating hills course was Tormentor in 1876. There are photographs and memorabilia of the win around the club.

Many great horses have followed Tormentor’s success on the 4.9km course over the years, including Darkie (1877 and 1878), Trigger (1881 and 1884), Swordfish (1885 and 1887), Vanguard (1912 and 1914), Tramp (1913 and 1915), Mount Cooper (1926 and 1927), Club Spirit (1972 and 1974) and Light Hand (1995 and 1996).

Oakbank has also played host to some of the best riders in the country, including Laurie Meenan, Alex Fullarton, Jamie Evans, Mick Patton, Brian Robert Smith, Pug McKenzie, Bluey Armsden, Don Wraight, Tom Glennon, and James Scobie who have all etched their names to the Great Eastern honour roll.

Our Committee

ORC Comittee

Chairman: Arabella Branson
Deputy Chairman: Barney Gask
Committee: Stephen Charlton, Chris Dittmar, John Lewis, Andrew Watson, Trent Shortland, and James Jordan.


Annual Report

To view a copy of the 2020/21 Oakbank Racing Club Annual Report click here

To view a copy of the 2020/21 Oakbank Racing Club Financial Statements click here

For previous Annual Reports, please email

Oakbank Racing Club Track

Oakbank track dimensions


Oakbank Racing Club Partners