Skip to Content

Country Racing SA Board Changes

The 2022 country racing season will be begin with a new Chairman and changes to the board, with outgoing Chairman, Wayne Henson stepping down following the 2021 Country Racing SA (CRSA) Annual General Meeting, held in December

Mr. Henson was the board representative for the Balaklava Racing Club, and since 2014, held the Chairman's position at CRSA.

"After almost 28 years on the committee of the Balaklava Racing Club and 23 years as a member of Country Racing SA, I decided that it was time for me to move on.

“Hopefully, this will enable me to spend more time with my family, particularly my adorable grandchildren as well as expanding my business interests," he said.

"Balaklava Racing Club and CRSA are in extremely good hands with Andrew Manuel as Chairman of Balaklava and Jeff Tansell as Chairman of CRSA.

"My involvement with the country clubs was very satisfying and the relationship with the SAJC a highlight, working with people like Bodelle Frances, Alan Burchard, Tony Newman, and Bob Holton was fantastic. Collectively we had the same objectives, which centred around the improvement of thoroughbred racing in South Australia.

" I wish all the clubs a prosperous future and look forward to attending forthcoming country race meetings," Henson said.

CRSA CEO, Chris Biggs said that Mr. Henson was a strong negotiator on behalf of CRSA, and will be a big loss to those who have had dealings with him during his time as Chairman.

Mr. Biggs went on to congratulate and welcome the new Chairman, Jeff Tansell.

"Mr. Tansell has been a great support to the Executive Team as Deputy Chair of CRSA, and his unanimous election to CRSA Chairman is a testament to his commitment," Biggs said.

2022 CRSA Board

Jeff Tansell - Chairman

Ian Millen - Deputy Chairman

Chris Biggs - Chief Executive Officer

Arabella Branson

Greg Fitzgerald

Justin Kain

John Leahy - replacing Reg Nolan

David Perrins - replacing Wayne Henson

Stephen Smedley

Any questions relating to the Country Racing Board can be sent to

Post categories

CRSA Country Racing SA